No variable specified
Bartow Municipal races, special election set for Nov. 5
by Monica Burge
September 10, 2013 10:08 AM | 3506 views | 0 0 comments | 44 44 recommendations | email to a friend | print
A special election to fill a state senate seat that represents parts of Bartow County will take place on the same date as the general election in November.

Secretary of State Brian Kemp announced Nov. 5 as the date for the special election to fill the vacancy in Senate District 14.

Kemp set the candidate qualifying for Sept. 16 through Sept. 18.

Candidates will qualify in the Elections Division of the Office of the Secretary of State, 802 West Tower, 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, SE, Atlanta

The qualifying fee is $400.

A run-off election, if needed, will be held Dec. 3.

The special election will determine who replaces former senator Barry Loudermilk, who resigned to concentrate on his Congressional campaign.

Loudermilk is running to replace Rep. Phil Gingrey, R-Marietta, who is campaigning to replace Sen. Saxby Chambliss, who is not seeking re-election.

It coincides with a general election that includes several races for local municipal officials.

Most local races are uncontested, however, there are some that could prevent election day from becoming a true runaway for incumbents.

Candidates who qualified are:


Buddy Bagley, incumbent, Post 4 city council

Kenneth Carson, Post 3 city council

Lee Castro, Post 3 city council

Connie Morrow, incumbent, Post 3 city council


Matt Santini, incumbent, mayor.

David Apple, incumbent, Ward 5 board of education

Floyd Braid, Ward 2 board of education

Kelley Dial, incumbent, Ward 6 board of education

Carolyn Johnson, incumbent, Ward 1 board of


Kari Hodge, incumbent, Ward 1 city council

Valerie Holt, Ward 3 city council

Louis Tonsmeire, incumbent, Ward 3 city council

Dianne Tate, incumbent, Ward 5 city council


Donnie Bagwell, at-large city council

Ed Brush, incumbent, at-large city council

Brenda Tidwell, incumbent, at-large city council


Sammy Carden, incumbent, at-large city council

Kathy Foulk, incumbent, mayor.

Dennis Thayer, mayor

Ron Nesbitt, at-large city council

David Stout, at-large city council

Joseph Turner, incumbent, at-large city council


Mike Abernathy, Post 4 city council

Ron Casey, incumbent, mayor.

Wanda Penson, mayor

Jeanette Perkins-Graves, mayor

Louise Howell, incumbent, Post 1 city council

Edward Miklas, incumbent, Post 4 city council


Chris Allen, incumbent, mayor

Dennis Huskins, incumbent, at-large city council

David Richards, incumbent, at-large city council

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides