No variable specified
Complete primary election results available online
by Noreen Cochran
May 19, 2014 10:19 PM | 3324 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Tuesday’s primary election results will be posted online in real time at and Twitter with complete reports in the May 28 print edition.

The biggest contest to watch in south Fulton is the battle for the Democratic nominee for chairman of the Fulton County Commission.

Incumbent Chairman John Eaves and incumbent at-large Commissioner Robb Pitts will go toe-to-toe for the right to face Republican challenger Earl L. Cooper of Atlanta, a minister, on Nov. 4.

Eaves wound up opposite Pitts when redistricting put them both in the same jurisdiction.

Another closely watched battle will be the county commission District 6 clash between Emma Darnell and William “Bill” Edwards, who are now District 5 and 7 incumbents, respectively.

Again, redistricting made the two Democrats political rivals.

The winner will compete against College Park entrepreneur Abraham Watson in November

The primary ballot for Democrats also contains four non-binding questions regarding the $5.15 minimum wage, indigent care at hospitals, an independent ethics commission and the state education budget.

Certain to go to a runoff July 22 is the competition for the seat being relinquished by District 16 state Sen. Ronnie Chance, R-Tyrone.

The field of seven Republican hopefuls are D.R. “Bob” Barnard, a builder from Fayetteville; David J. Studdard , and attorney from Fayetteville; Erik A. Manning, a project manager from Peachtree City; Gil B. Williams, a pilot from Tyrone; James W. Clifton, an attorney; M.H. “Marty” Harbin, an insurance agent from Tyrone; and W.G. “Bill” Johnston, an attorney from Griffin.

In the Legislature, District 38 State Sen. Horacena Tate, D-Atlanta, faces a challenge from Reginald Crossley, an Atlanta resident and Fulton County youth commissioner.

All other south Fulton delegates either will face competition in November or are running unopposed.

In nonpartisan races, school board member Catherine Maddox and challengers Joel L. Joseph and DeAndre S. Pickett vie for District 6.

Check with the Neighbor throughout Election Day for updates on the primary.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides