No variable specified
County’s finest players named to all-region team
by Marcel Pourtout
December 26, 2013 12:04 PM | 2234 views | 0 0 comments | 25 25 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With the conclusion of the prep football season last week, the announcement of the All-Region 5-AAAAA teams highlighted several individual Paulding players and programs which had their most successful campaigns in history.

Senior quarterback Chandler Burks from South Paulding was named the player of the year after producing a stellar campaign in which he threw for 24 touchdowns on 2,468 yards passing while also rushing for 1,476 yards and 18 scores. He led the Spartans to a school-record 10 wins and a playoff victory this season.

North Paulding senior Chase Noonan received the offensive player of the year honor, throwing for 30 touchdowns and 2,600 yards this season along with posting 10 rushing scores. Scott Jones was named the coach of the year after leading North Paulding to a school-record 11 wins and two victories in the playoffs. Wolfpack offensive coordinator Jeremy Edwards received the assistant coach of the year award.

Senior Dylan Coleman of East Paulding was named the defensive player of the year while teammate Josh Klien received the special team player of the year. South Paulding’s Lorenzo Adger was awarded the Lineman of the Year award while Matt Mixon of North Paulding gained the 48-Minute Man honor.

East Paulding quarterback Mitchell Webb was named to the first team along with running backs Jae Bowen of South Paulding and Cornelius Collins from North Paulding. The first-team offense included East Paulding linemen Tanner Ledbetter and Braylan Howard along with North Paulding’s Cameron Banks and Cooper Corley. Wolfpack receivers Mac Seagle and Kayden Bishop were on the team as well as South Paulding’s Ben Norman, LJ Pope and Hiram’s Andricus Parker.

The first team defense included two Raiders’ linemen, Chris Guinn and Conner Christian along with Paulding County High School’s Brandon Ballard and Casey Cobb of South Paulding. The Spartans had two defensive backs make the team, Khalia Hackett and Trevon Simmons, while the Raiders’ Keenan Pace, Tae Ray and Jace White of North Paulding also joined the unit. Linebackers Jack Senkowitz of North Paulding and East Paulding’s Tyler Gordon round out the defensive team representatives from the county.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides