No variable specified
Douglas County voters have presidential, state, local races, Sunday alcohol sales on ballot
by Tom Spigolon
October 10, 2012 02:18 PM | 2643 views | 1 1 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Voters have their choices of a variety of federal, state and local candidates, two proposed amendments to the state constitution and Sunday alcohol sales in unincorporated Douglas County in this year’s General Election.

The ballot will include contested races for:

- President, Democratic incumbent Barack Obama is opposed by Republican Mitt Romney and Libertarian Gary Johnson.

- U.S. House District 13, Democratic incumbent David Scott is opposed by Republican S. Malik.

- Two Georgia Public Service Commission seats; Republican incumbent Chuck Eaton is opposed by Democrat Stephen Oppenheimer and Libertarian Brad Ploeger; and Republican incumbent Stan Wise is opposed by Libertarian David Staples.

- A Special Republican primary for State Senate District 30 between Mike Dugan, Bill Hembree, Jim Naughton and Glenn Richardson.

- State House District 66, Republican Bob Snelling and Democrat Kimberly Alexander.

- State House District 67, Republican Micah Gravley and Democrat Leigh Mcmutry.

- County Sheriff, Republican incumbent Phil Miller and Democrat Derrick T. Broughton.

- County Tax Commissioner, Republican incumbent Todd Cowan and Democrat Greg Baker.

- County Commission Chairman, Republican incumbent Tom Worthan and Democrat Romona Jackson Jones.

Douglas voters also will have yes or no votes on:

- Amending the state constitution to allow charter school applicants to appeal to the state if denied by a local school board; and allowing the state to enter multi-year leases on property.

- Allowing sale of alcoholic beverages by the drink and in retail stores in unincorporated Douglas County on Sundays.

Unopposed candidates are on the ballot for State Senate District 35; State House Districts 61, 62, 65 and 68; County Superior Court Clerk; Probate Judge; Coroner; School Board Districts 1 and 5; County Commission District 2; and West Georgia Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides