No variable specified
Eagle's Landing's Rosolino named Teacher of the Year
by Mary Cosgrove
October 23, 2012 04:09 PM | 1900 views | 0 0 comments | 18 18 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Known for her gregarious, dynamic and engaging teaching style, Eagle’s Landing High School teacher Barbara Rosolino earned the title of Henry County School System Teacher of the Year at last week’s ceremony.

The school system’s Harvest of Heroes event honored the 51 school-level teachers of the year and selected Rosolino out of three finalists for the top honor.

Rosolino has been an educator for 34 years, having taught grade levels from seventh to collegiate, but currently teachers AP Literature and Composition and Honors English II at Eagle’s Landing.

According to her nomination letter, her students have an 81 percent pass rate on the AP exam for Literature and Composition.

Rosolino was given $1,000 by Sons Honda and a $500 gift basket from Kroger. The school district will also pay for Rosolino to attend an educational conference of her choice.

The two runners-up were Sheila Thomas-Johnson from Henry County Middle School and Tina McPherson from Stockbridge Elementary School.

Thomas-Johnson was described by Henry County Middle School Principal Kimberly Anderson as innovative, positive and upbeat.

“As a teacher, she understands and meets the unique needs of all her students and colleagues,” Anderson said. “She knows how to bring learning to life.”

McPherson was described by Stockbridge Elementary Principal Bonita Fluker as one who goes the extra mile, accepting more responsibility and volunteering her time.

“She works tirelessly to educate her students,” Fluker said. “She’s always done it with a smile.”

Superintendent Ethan Hildreth said of the 3,000 teachers in the school system, not only was it difficult choosing 51 school- level winners was difficult, but narrowing it even further to three finalists was excruciating.

“You are the best of the best,” he said of all the winners.

Other honorees were announced during the ceremony, including the Media Specialist of the Year, Jennifer McCrary at Cotton Indian Elementary, who was described as enterprising, devoted and frenetic.

The School Nutrition HERO Award was given to Ola High’s Susan Whitehorn, who Principal Ross Iddings said always goes above and beyond her normal job duties.

This year’s Service Employee HERO ward went to Hickory Flat Elementary lead custodian Elizabeth Webster.

Webster is the type of employee who gets involved with the children and does more than what her job requires, Principal Paula Crumbley said.

The Support Personnel HERO award went to Woodland High’s special needs parapro Tiffany Price, who is credited with forming a special needs football team and organizing for the students to attend prom.

Finally, the Transportation HERO award was given to Eagle’s Landing bus driver Lisa Cox, who takes the time to connect with her students and their families.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides