No variable specified
Early voting begins Monday; state, county candidates, E-SPLOST on ballot
by Staff Reports
April 23, 2014 01:55 PM | 2220 views | 0 0 comments | 12 12 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Early voting for the May 20 primary in Paulding County is set to begin Monday in the election office at the Watson Government Center in Dallas.

Early voting will be available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in the elections office beginning Monday and running through May 16. State law prohibits voting on the day before an election, which means no absentee ballots or voting on machines will be allowed on May 19, Paulding elections officials said.

Early voting is absentee voting that takes place only in the Elections and Voter Registration Office at 240 Constitution Blvd. in Dallas beginning 21 days prior to a primary, general and special election. Voters cast their ballots on a touch screen voting machine rather than a paper absentee ballot.

Other ways to vote before the May 20 primary include:

- ABSENTEE VOTING: Any registered voter who is eligible to vote in an election can request an absentee ballot 180 days before the election with the exception of military and overseas voters. Military and overseas voters may request an absentee ballot at any time. Due to recent changes in state law, voters who apply for a mail-in only absentee ballot do not have to provide a reason for the request.

To request an application, call the elections office at (770) 443-7503, or download one by going to

Applications must be made to the absentee clerk of the Elections and Voter Registration Office to obtain or vote absentee. The absentee application can be returned either of two ways:

- Mail to: Deidre Holden or Lacy Dunn, 240 Constitution Blvd., Dallas, GA 30132.

- Fax to: Deidre Holden (678) 224-4450 or Lacy Dunn (678) 224-4451.

- ADVANCE VOTING: Advance voting is done on voting machines during the week prior to the election. Three voting locations will open in addition to the one open for Early Voting. Hours are extended on Tuesday and Thursday.

The following locations are open during the week prior to Election Day:

-Paulding County Elections Office, 240 Constitution Blvd., Dallas.

-Mt. Tabor Park, 1550 East Paulding Drive, Dallas.

-Poplar Springs Baptist Church, 2056 Hiram-Douglasville Hwy., Hiram.

-Burnt Hickory Park, 8650 Cartersville Hwy., Dallas.

Hours will be Monday, Wednesday and Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Tuesday and Thursday, 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more informatkon, call (770) 443-7503 or visit


Voters will be asked on the May 20 ballot if they want to continue the current 1 percent special purpose local option sales tax for education (E-SPLOST).

In addition, congressional, state and local candidates in the Republican primary will include:

-U.S. Representative, District 14: J.T. "Tom" Graves (incumbent), Kenneth L. Herron.

-District Attorney: D.R. “Dick” Donovan (incumbent)

-State Senate District 30: Michael B “Mike” Dugan (incumbent); W.A. “Bill” Hembree.

-State Senate District 31: William D “Bill” Heath (incumbent).

-State Representative District 17: Howard Richard Maxwell (incumbent); David S. Bond.

-State Representative District 19: Paulette Rakestraw Braddock (incumbent).

-State Representative District 66: R.J. “Bob” Snelling.

-State Representative District 67: M.T. “Micah” Gravley (incumbent).

-County Commissioner Post 2: Todd Pownall (incumbent).

-County Commissioner Post 3: Vernon Collett; Herbert “Herb” Allen Haynes; Richard Manous.

-County Commissioner Post 4: David Barnett (incumbent); Tony Crowe.

-School Board Member District 2: Nick Chester (incumbent).

-School Board Member District 5: Sammy McClure (incumbent); Earl Cosgrove.

-School Board Member District 6: Kim Curl (incumbent).

State and local candidates in the Democratic primary will include:

-State Senate District 30: James Harrison Nixon.

-State Senate District 31: Charles R. Winter.

-State Representative District 19: Sandra M. Fuller.

-State Representative District 66: Kimberly A. Alexander (incumbent).

-County Commissioner Post 2: George Patton “Pat” Hughes, Patti Smith.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides