No variable specified
Few new faces in state legislature for DeKalb County
by LaTria Garnigan
November 14, 2012 10:20 AM | 4261 views | 0 0 comments | 19 19 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With the culmination of the general election last Tuesday, many of the incumbents holding offices in DeKalb County were able to retain their seats for the next term.

Beginning with the county commission, CEO Burrell Ellis, District 1 Commissioner Elaine Boyer, District 4 Commissioner Sharon Barnes-Sutton, District 5 Commissioner Lee May and District 6 Commission Kathie Gannon all retained their seats to continue their posts.

Other incumbents who will remain with the county are Sheriff Thomas Brown, Solicitor General Sherry Boston, Chief Magistrate Berryl Anderson, Tax Commissioner Claudia Lawson, Clerk of Superior Court Debra Deberry, District Attorney Stone Mountain District Robert James and the two representatives for Soil and Water, Doug Denton and Dell MacGregor.

According to the Secretary of State’s website, of DeKalb’s more than 418,000 registered voters, there were 306,586 ballots cast. That resulted in a 73.3 percent voter turnout. Provisional ballots were not included in these unofficial results.

For DeKalb County’s representation in the General Assembly, all of the State Senators managed to keep their seats for another two-year term: Emanuel Jones, Fran Millar, Steve Henson, Jason Carter, Ronald Ramsey, Gail Davenport and Gloria Butler.

In the bid for State Representatives, DeKalb County constituents in Districts 92 and 94 will see new faces, Tonya Anderson and Karen Bennett, respectively. All other incumbents managed to retain their seats for another term: Tom Taylor, Mike Jacobs, Scott Holcomb, Mary Oliver, Howard Mosby, Rahn Mayo, Karla Drenner, Michele Henson, Earnest Williams, Billy Mitchell, Stacey Abrams, Pam Stephenson, Dee Dawkins-Haigler and Dar’shun Kendrick.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides