No variable specified
Henry County candidates qualify for election in May
by Christine Fonville
March 07, 2014 05:11 PM | 4617 views | 0 0 comments | 24 24 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The qualifying period for the Federal Primary Election in Henry County ended today at noon.

Candidates qualified to run for the offices of commissioner in districts 3, 4 and 5, magistrate and state court judge, school board districts 4 and 5 and solicitor general.

Below is a list of names that will appear on the ballot on the May 20 election date.

-Commission District 3 candidates include democrat I. Darryl Payton, incumbent Republican Gary Barham, Republican Horace Brannan and Republican William Toney.

-Commission District 4 candidates are incumbent Republican Reid Bowman, Sr. and Republican Blake Prince.

- Commission District 5 only has one candidate the qualified, incumbent Democrat Bruce Holmes.

- School Board District 4 candidates are Virgil Brannon and Donna McBride, both non-partisan.

- School Board District 5 candidates are incumbent Erik Charles and Annette Edwards, both non-partisan.

- The State Court Judge is electing two seats; Jason T. Harper and Ben Studdard, both incumbents and non-partisan will be on the ballot.

- Solicitor General has one candidate who qualified, incumbent Trea Pipkin, nonpartisan.

- Magistrate Jude has one candidate who qualified, incumbent Robert Godwin, nonpartisan.

The state senators and representatives who qualified and will appear on the ballot are listed below.

In Henry County districts 010, 073, 076, 077 and 078, incumbent Democrat Emanuel D. Jones, incumbent Republican John P. Yates, Democrat Sandra Scott, Democrat Darryl W. Jordan and Republican Christopher J. Deraney and Democrat Demetrius M. Douglas all qualified, respectively.

For District 017 and 109 Locust Grove resident and incumbent Republican Richard Jeffares, McDonough resident and incumbent Republican R. Dale Rutledge both qualified, respectively.

For district 110, Republican, incumbent Andrew J. Welch of McDonough and Democrat B. Kaye Shipley of McDonough qualified.

For district 111, incumbent Republican R. Brian Strickland of Locust Grove and Democrat James. A Nichols IV of Stockbridge qualified.

For more information, visit and


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides