No variable specified
South Fulton elections result in turnovers, runoffs
by Noreen Cochran
November 13, 2013 12:57 PM | 2605 views | 0 0 comments | 24 24 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The ballots have been counted and election results are in for south Fulton.

East Point residents unseated Mayor Earnestine Pittman, who came third in the four-way race for mayor.

Her running mate Andy Korta gained the least amount with 730 or 16 percent of the votes while Pittman received 1,012 or 22 percent of the total votes, Clyde Mitchell was second with 1,091 or 24 percent of the total votes and Jannquell Peters gained the most ballots with 1,700 or 37 percent of the total votes.

Candidates Mitchell and Peters will face each other in a run off election for mayor.

Similarly, Ward A incumbent Sharonda Hubbard will face Sharon Shropshire and ward d incumbent J. Slaughter-Gibbons will face D. Ingraham in a run off election.

The runoff election is scheduled for Dec. 3.

College Park citizens will also have the opportunity to cast ballots again in a Dec. 3 runoff for the Ward 4 seat.

Incumbent Charles Phillips captured 172 votes, about 44 percent of the total while his opponents Roderick Gay received 110, or about 28 percent and Coco Bright was a close third with 105 votes, about 27 percent of the total.

Phillips and Gay will face each other in the run-off election for the seat.

Councilman Joe Carn was unopposed in the ward two seat.

In Union City, voters gave Interim Mayor Vince Williams the unexpired term of his office and the full term election for mayor of that city.

Williams fended off challenger Jarius McDaniel with 787 votes, or about 70 percent.

After the Union City council special election, Bernard Ellis and Joyce Robinson are headed to a runoff with each capturing about 49 percent of the vote.

For city council at large, Shayla Nealy handily trumped Angelette Mealing and Mary Copeland-Lampkin, walking away with 65 percent of the vote.

Hapeville city council election results showed for the at large seat, Michael Randman came in first with 249 votes over Peggy Bryden Hardy’s 177. Also running was Scott Whitaker, who garnered 81 votes.

For the Ward I seat, incumbent Jimmy Lovern fell behind challenger Josh Powell. Powell had 58 percent of the vote, with 301 ballots in his corner, compared to Lovern’s 41 percent and 213 votes.

For Ward II, incumbent H. Lew Valero with 241 votes, or 47 percent, trailed challenger Diane Dimmick, who earned 269 votes for more than 52 percent of the total votes.

Fairburn city council unofficial election results showed 100 percent of the precincts reporting the top three vote-getters for city council are Lydia Glaize with 677, Hattie Portis-Jones with 533 and incumbent Alex Heath with 414. Incumbent Jean Barkley Russell clocks 395 and was trailed by Irene May with 215.

In Palmetto, incumbent council members Laura Mullis and Lucinda Rockmore were reelected while member Gregory Rusch was defeated by Michael Arnold.


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides