No variable specified
T-SPLOST issue, hotly-contested races face voters on Tuesday
by Bill Baldowski
July 30, 2012 04:25 PM | 2408 views | 1 1 comments | 17 17 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The 2012 Democratic General Primary encompasses some interesting races, with special emphasis being placed on the Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax for Transportation, the Clayton County Commission chairman and commissioners’ race and, one which has taken much of the spotlight throughout the summer, the Clayton County sheriff’s race.

The Clayton Neighbor Newspaper will carry stories on all facets of the election, from poll voting numbers throughout the day to election results after the polls close at 7 p.m.

Eight candidates crowd the hotly-contested sheriff’s race, including incumbent Kem Kimbrough who is running for a second term. Among his challengers are former sheriff Victor Hill in addition to, in alphabetical order, Jon E. Antoine, Tina Daniel, Lawrence Ethridge II, Godreque “Dreg” Newsom, Ricky B. Redding and Rica Wright.

In the hotly-contested race for chairman of the Clayton County Commission, incumbent Eldrin Bell has drawn two names that, like his, are familiar to Clayton County voters. They are Roberta Abdul-Salaam and former Clayton County Police Chief Jeff Turner.

Two interesting races are on the ballot for the two commission posts up for grabs. In the District 2 race, incumbent Gail Hambrick is facing Thomas E. Houston, III and Lisa Tinch while, in District 3, incumbent Wole Ralph faces Ronald Ringer and Shana M. Rooks.

The race for Clayton County’s district attorney’s office pits incumbent Tracy Graham Lawson against Leslie Miller Terry while, in the District 44 senate race, two well-known opponents are battling it out, incumbent Gail Davenport and challenger Gail Buckner.

Other races of interest include that for District 75 state representative where incumbent Yasmin Neal is being opposed by former state representative Mike Glanton.

In the state House District 76 race, incumbent Sandra Scott is facing Jeffery Benoit and Kim Cox Owens while, in district 77, incumbent Darryl Jordan is facing Kevin Thomas and in District 78, incumbent Glenn Baker is challenged by Demetrious Douglas.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides