No variable specified
T-SPLOST, Congressional races higlight election
by Everett Catts
July 30, 2012 08:42 PM | 2079 views | 0 0 comments | 20 20 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With the T-SPLOST decision and a few contested local races, Tuesday’s election is expected to have strong turnout.Following a multimillion dollar advertising campaign, T-SPLOST, the metro Atlanta 1 percent tax to fund transportation projects, will be on most, if not all voters’ minds Tuesday.At stake is an estimated $8.5 billion in project funds shared by 10 metro counties over 10 years.In the Congressional races, all three local ones have opposition. In District 5, which includes Buckhead, incumbent John Lewis, D-Atlanta, faces Michael Johnson. District 6 U.S. Rep. Tom Price, R-Roswell, has no Republican rival in the primary but two Democrats, Jeff Kazanow and Robert Montigel, will face off for the right to battle Price in November. That district includes part of Sandy Springs. In District 11, incumbent Phil Gingrey, R-Marietta, faces Michael Opitz and William Llop in the primary.In the state Legislature, there are only a few contested elections. In the Senate, the race in District 6, which includes Vinings and parts of Buckhead and Sandy Springs, has garnered the most attention. Three Republicans, Josh Belinfante, Drew Ellenburg and Hunter Hill, face off. The winner faces incumbent Doug Stoner, R-Smyrna, in November.The only other contested state Senate election is District 38, where incumbent Horacena Tate, D-Atlanta, faces Reginald Crossley. The district includes part of Buckhead and no Republicans running are in the primary.In the state House of Representatives, there are three contested races in the primary. District 53 (formerly 44) incumbent Sheila Jones, D-Atlanta, will face fellow Democrats Jason Esteves and Robert Patillo. In the newly drawn District 57, incumbent Pat Gardner, D-Atlanta, will face Rashad Taylor, D-Atlanta, who was the incumbent in District 55 before part of it merged with District 57. In District 56, Democrats Kenneth and former State Rep. “Able” Mable Thomas are battling for the seat vacated by retiring incumbent Kathy Ashe, D-Atlanta.

Incumbent Fulton County Sheriff Theodore “Ted” Jackson will face fellow Democrats Frank L. Brown, Curtis S. Farmer and Richard Lankford, a former Fulton sheriff, and Charles Shelton.Incumbent Tax Commissioner Arthur E. Ferdinand will take on John Jamont and R.J. Morris in the Democratic primary.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides