No variable specified
Georgia Music Hall of Fame Awards honorees announced
by Staff Reports
August 14, 2012 03:34 PM | 4929 views | 0 0 comments | 24 24 recommendations | email to a friend | print
From left, Sugarland’s Jennifer Nettles and Kristian Bush.
view slideshow (6 images)
In a news release, the Friends of Georgia Music Festival Inc., a nonprofit promoting and supporting the state’s musical artists, announced it will host the 34th annual Georgia Music Hall of Fame Awards Concert and Show Oct. 14 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre near Vinings.

Recently retired WSB-TV news anchor Monica Pearson will be event’s mistress of ceremonies. The ‘American Idol’ stars and recording artists Diana DeGarmo, a Snellville native, and her fiancée Ace Young, who met while appearing in the Broadway revival of “Hair,” will perform during the concert, along with many of the inductees.

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Music Director Robert Spano will be presented the Chairman’s Award for his work with the orchestra.

The other honorees are:

Performer – Sugarland, Jennifer Nettles and Kristian Bush: From the platinum-selling No. 1 hit “Stay,” 22 million worldwide sales of albums and singles and five Country Music “Vocal Duo of the Year” Awards to Grammy and Academy of Country Music accolades, the duet partners combine vocal, songwriting, production and multi-instrumentalist greatness.

o Group – .38 Special: Bringing a strong Southern Rock influence to American music, .38 Special’s breakthrough hit “Hold On Loosely” has been followed by No. 1 Billboard albums and hits including “Back Where You Belong” and “Second Chance.”

o Non-performer – Alex Hodges: A native Georgian, Alex Hodges is CEO of Nederlander Concerts and started his career as an agent at Walden Artists where he introduced Georgia’s Otis Redding and other R&B legends to the world. As principal at Paragon Agency and later Empire Agency, he guided the illustrious careers of stars including Stevie Ray Vaughan, Gregg Allman and groups such as Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Police, The Allman Brothers Band, Atlanta Rhythm Section, The Outlaws, Sea Level, The Marshall Tucker Band and The Charlie Daniels Band, among others.

o Songwriter – Gary Rossington: A founding member of the legendary band Lynyrd Skynyrd, Gary Rossington has contributed to the group’s 30 million-plus worldwide album sales, three two-time platinum records and a position among the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time by Rolling Stone magazine. He has created songs that implant him as a cultural icon, including “Sweet Home Alabama,” “Simple Man” and “Tuesdays Gone” among many others.

o Horizon Award – Riley Biederer: Riley Biederer is a singer/songwriter from Atlanta, with a voice bigger than her ex-gymnast’s frame and a resume beyond her 15 years. Since winning Georgia state titles in the vault and the floor exercise, she has been focusing exclusively on her music. In addition to writing prodigiously on her own, she has collaborated with a host of well-known songwriters in the pop, rock and country genres, and recorded with producer/engineer Matt Still (Elton John, Outkast). She is currently writing and recording songs for her debut album.

o Posthumous: Blues guitarist Jonny Jenkins, Fox Theatre’s organist and WSB personality Bob Van Camp and Atlanta DJ Skinny Bobby Harper.

The concert and show will be televised live by Georgia Public Broadcasting. Tickets start at $60 per person and $20 per student.

Information and tickets: (800) 745-3000 or visit or

Advertising and sponsorship information: (770) 491-9494, ext. 15 or email

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides