No variable specified
Commission gives names for election board post
by Nneka Okona
April 24, 2013 11:44 AM | 1539 views | 0 0 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Henry County’s Board of Elections and Registration may soon solidify its newest at-large member.

During the April 16 commission meeting, each commissioner from their corresponding district nominated one person to sit on the committee to determine the at-large member.

Janet Shellnut, director of registrations and elections for the county, said the committee to select the at-large member of the board was set forth by legislation.

In 2006, the General Assembly adopted a local act forming the county’s elections and registration board, which also set forth a precedent “governing authority to appoint a nominating committee to chose the at-large member,” according to section 2, subsection two of the act.

“The board is comprised of two nominations from the Republican party and two from the Democratic party,” said Shellnut.

District 1 Commissioner Bo Moss nominated Eleanor Smith for the role, District 2 Commissioner Brian Preston nominated Eddie Cardell, District 3 Commissioner Gary Barham nominated Paula Engeman, Vice Chairman and District 4 Commissioner Reid Bowman nominated Fred Rainer and District 5 Commissioner Bruce Holmes nominated Kenyatta Bush.

After the nominees were presented, Shellnut said the list of possible appointees was a solid one.

Shellnut said some of them had already been on the board and their experience would be an asset.

The new at-large member will replace current elections board member Arch Brown, whose term expires July 1.

Other members currently on the elections and registrations board include Andy Callaway, Jim Henry Jr., Edith Gonsal and Marie Thomas.

Thomas’ term expires June 30 while Henry’s expires July 1.

Shellnut said following the meeting, that the nomination for the at-large member will hopefully be presented before the board of commissioners May 7.

Additionally, the board of commissioners discussed the position of director of stormwater for the county.

Public Works Division Director Terry McMickle said that the job description needed an update.

“Our job description for stormwater director was modified in 2012 to meet the needs of the department at that time,” he said. “Since 2003, the pay grade for the stormwater director has been at a Grade 45.”

McMickle said the job description needed adjustment and subsequent board approval back to what it was originally before the change in job tasks last year.

The resolution was unanimously approved by the board.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides