No variable specified
Alpharetta Historical Society installs new board for 2013-2014
by Staff
July 02, 2013 10:33 AM | 2675 views | 0 0 comments | 26 26 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Alpharetta Historical Society hosted its annual Family Picnic on June 23 at the Mansell House and Gardens with approximately 60 people in attendance.

The 2013-14 board of directors were installed at the event.

President Nan Harman Dempsey opened the meeting by recognizing Eagle Scout Benjamin Horn who earned his Eagle Scout by refurbishing the Pinetree Cemetery on Kimball Bridge Road. His parents, Jeff and Lynn Horne, along with siblings Jerome and Kayla were also in attendance.

Harman continued the meeting by thanking the board for all their hard work over the past year and recognizing the accomplishments for the year. She then passed the gavel to Ben Hollingsworth who said he is looking forward to being president of the society and will be asking for everyone’s support in the coming year.

Don Nahser, manager of the Alpharetta City Band, installed the new slate of board members with each member taking the society’s oath to preserve the past, in the present, for the future.

Hollingsworth recognized the society interns for the summer, Karen Clyburn and Erika Allison, who are documenting and updating the archives and historical collection. To close the meeting, Hollingsworth thanked all the new officers, trustees, and chairs of the organization for taking responsibility for the tasks assigned to them and said he looks forward to working with everyone in the coming year.

The 2013-14 board includes:

Ben Hollingsworth, president; Nan Harman-Dempsey, vice-president; Christine Zoeller, secretary; Jim Spruell, treasurer; Jeannie Goodwin, marketing and management; Connie Mashburn, historian, research library, and archives; Lynn Sickeler, programs; Donald Mitchell, preservation; Martine Broadwell, heritage; Beverly Wolfe, membership; Mary Lee, hospitality; Janet Rodgers, public relations; Ron Welch, rental -property management; Marjean Birt, Parliamentarian; Bill Lusk, trustee; Gene Fouts, trustee; Hazel Reese, trustee; Kim Dodson, trustee; Marge Pierce, trustee and Selma Merbaum, trustee.


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides