No variable specified
Candidates qualify for elected office
by Noreen Cochran
September 03, 2013 01:01 PM | 3659 views | 0 0 comments | 20 20 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Candidates in south Fulton cities submitted their paperwork last week to qualify them for slots on the ballots in the Nov. 5 election.

East Point voters will go to the polls and cast ballots for mayor and four at-large city council members.

Incumbent Mayor Earnestine Pittman will face challengers Andrew Korta, Clyde Mitchell and Jannquell Peters.

For city council Ward A at-large, the field is incumbent Sharonda Hubbard, John Fowler, Alexia Ryan and Sharon Denise Shropshire.

City council Ward B at-large will be represented by either Corrie Claiborne, Karen René or Marie Williams. Incumbent Patricia Langford did not throw her hat back in the ring.

For city council Ward C at-large, incumbent Marcel Reed will try to fend off opponent Nanette Saucier.

The Ward D at-large contest will pit incumbent Jacqueline Slaughter-Gibbons against Delores Harmon, Deana Ingraham, Derrick Foreman and DeAndre Pickett.

Union City residents will elect a mayor and two city council members.

Acting Mayor Vince Williams resigned his city council seat to run for mayor, a race in he will be opposed by Jarius McDaniel.

Williams’ unexpired term on the council will be filled by either Bernard T. Ellis or Joyce G. Robinson.

City Councilwoman Angelette Mealing and hopefuls Mary Copeland-Lampkin and Shayla Nealy will compete for the two available at-large council seats.

Contested offices in Hapeville are three of its four city council positions.

The candidates for the position of council member at large are Peggy Bryden Hardy, Michael Randman and Scott Whitaker.

For the position of council member for Ward I, the competitors are James “Jimmy” Lovern Jr., the incumbent, and Joshua Powell.

In the race for council Ward II, challenger Diane Dimmick will face incumbent H. Lew Valero.

Palmetto’s three city council seats will be won by the three top vote-getters from a slate containing incumbents Gregory Rush, Laura Mullis and Lucinda Rockemore, and hopefuls Franklin Bo Smith, Ruth Wilson, Michael Arnold and John Edward Farmer.

Fairburn is holding elections for mayor and three at-large city council seats. Mario Avery is the incumbent mayor and will run again. At press time, no one opposed him.

Lydia L. Glaize seeks a council seat, as do Hattie Portis-Jones and Irene Carter May.

Incumbents Hiram A. Heath III and Jean Barkley Russell will seek to retain their offices.

In College Park, two city council posts are up for grabs, Ward II, of which Joe Carn is the incumbent, and Ward IV, held by Charles E. Phillips Sr.

Both incumbents are competing to retain their seats.

Carn has no challengers as of press time.

Phillips will be opposed by R.L. Coco Bright and Roderick Gay.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides