No variable specified
Local players selected to All-Region teams
by Greg Oshust
December 30, 2013 08:58 PM | 3238 views | 0 0 comments | 35 35 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Staff / Erin Gray / Cambridge’s J.D. White was among the players selected to the All-Region 7AAAAA, subregion A team.
Staff / Erin Gray / Cambridge’s J.D. White was among the players selected to the All-Region 7AAAAA, subregion A team.
Several players from Cambridge and Northview were among those who were chosen to the All-Region 7AAAAA Division A subregion team football team.

Meanwhile, a number of Blessed Trinity standouts were among the players who were selected to the All-Region 6AAA team.

Northview quarterback D.J. Pearson was named the offensive player of the year for the Division A squad.

Blessed Trinity coach Tim McFarlin was named 6AAA coach of the year for leading the Titans to the region title and the Class AAA state quarterfinals.

Northview wide receiver Matt Biondich was a first-team offense selection, while a number of Cambridge players – defensive end Josh Kania, linebackers Charles Mill and Trey Wolfe, punter Hunter Smith and returner J.D. White – were chosen to the first-team defense.

Cambridge players selected to second-team offense were wide receiver John Hurst and offensive linemen Branch Morley and Eddie Aganov, while Northview selections were tight end Connor Seagraves and offensive linemen Matt Clover and Hank Claymna.

Second-team defense selections for Cambridge were defensive end Kryshna Tanksley and defensive back Zeke Gormley, while Northview’s choices were defensive end Connor Owens and linebacker Austin Antwine.

Cambridge also had honorable mention selections in Brian Moore, Christian Johnson and Nick Oates, along with Northview players Max Ovrick, Devan Johnson, Joseph Macrina, Isaac Hart and Matt Ferguson.

Blessed Trinity selections to the 6AAA team were offensive linemen Austin Werkheiser and Zach Mitchler on offense, with outside linebacker Carter McManes and cornerback Kyle Evans selected on defense.

A number of north Fulton players and coaches were honored at the North Fulton Forsyth Touchdown Club awards banquet Dec. 19.

Mount Pisgah won two of the awards, with Aaron Winchester named offensive player of the year and Mike Forester the coach of the year.

Alpharetta’s Bryce Gauss was selected as defensive player of the year, while Milton’s Nick Wilson was chosen as lineman of the year.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides