No variable specified
Atlanta, Cobb County honored by ARC
by Staff Reports
January 30, 2014 02:26 PM | 2027 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The city of Atlanta and Cobb County are two of seven municipalities named Certified Green Communities last week by the Atlanta Regional Commission. The other municipalities honored were DeKalb and Douglas counties and the cities of Dunwoody, Roswell and Suwanee.

The Green Communities Program is a voluntary certification program for jurisdictions in the 10-county Atlanta region to encourage local governments to become more sustainable. The commission developed the program to assist local governments in reducing their overall environmental impact. Local governments earn points in 10 categories by implementing specific policies and practices that contribute to overall sustainability.

Green Communities set an example by conserving energy, investing in renewable energy, conserving water, conserving fuel, reducing waste and protecting and restoring the community’s natural resources.


*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides