No variable specified
Candidate qualifying ends slowly
by Everett Catts
March 07, 2014 07:01 PM | 10496 views | 0 0 comments | 37 37 recommendations | email to a friend | print
(UPDATED MONDAY AT 9:44 A.M. WITH CORRECT PARTY AFFILIATION FOR DISTRICT 7 FULTON COUNTY COMMISSION CANDIDATE EARL COOPER)After starting with a flourish Monday, qualifying for the May 20 Democratic and Republican primary elections ended slowly Friday with three two local candidates filing their paperwork and paying their fees. In the race to replace retiring U.S. Sen. Saxby Chambliss, R-Moultrie, so far Republicans Paul Broun, Art Gardner Phil Gingrey, Derrick Grayson, Karen Handel, Jack Kingston and David Perdue and Democrats Steen Miles, Michelle Nunn, Branco Radulovacki and Todd Anthony Robinson have qualified. All qualified Monday except Gardner and Perdue, which each did so Wednesday, and Grayson, Miles and Nunn, who did Thursday. In local Congressional races, District 5 U.S. Rep. John Lewis, D-Atlanta, who represents part of Buckhead, and Dis-trict 6 U.S. Rep. Tom Price, R-Roswell, who represents Sandy Springs, each qualified Monday, along with District 6 Democratic challenger Robert Montigel, who did so Wednesday. In the race for District 11, which includes Vinings and part of Buckhead, with Gingrey running for U.S. Senate, six Republican candidates qualified: Bob Barr, Allan Levene, Edward Lindsey, Barry Loudermilk, L.G. “Larry” Mrozinski, and Tricia Pridemore. All qualified Monday except Levene, Lindsey and Mrozinski, who did so Tuesday. In the State Senate races, all of the local incumbents qualified but only one, District 32’s Judson Hill, R-Marietta, is unopposed. Two incumbents have opposition in the primary: District 36’s Nan Orrock, D-Atlanta, vs. Angela Stovall; District 38’s Horacena Tate, D-Atlanta, vs. Reginald Crossley. Three other incumbents are unopposed in the primary but will face challengers in the general election in November: District 39’s Vincent Fort, D-Atlanta, vs. Republican challenger Robert Tindall; District 6’s Hunter Hill, R-Smyrna, vs. Democrat Antron Johnson; and District 56’s John Albers, R-Roswell, vs. Democrat Akhtar Sadiq. All qualified Monday except Stovall, who did so Tuesday, Crossley and Tindall, who did so Wednesday, and Sadiq, who did so Friday. In the State House of Representatives races, six local candidates have qualified. They are: District 48’s Harry Geisinger, R-Roswell; District 51’s Wendell Willard, R-Sandy Springs; District 52’s Joe Wilkinson, R-Sandy Springs; District 53’s Sheila Jones, D-Atlanta; and District 56’s “Able” Mable Thomas, D-Atlanta. In the District 54 race to replace Lindsey, many of the candidates expected to battle for that spot have qualified. They are: Republicans Beth Beskin, Loretta Lepore, John McCloskey and Angelic Moore and Democrat Robert “Bob” Gibeling. McCloskey qualified Tuesday and the rest qualified Monday. In the Public Service Commission elections, incumbent Republicans Doug Everett (District 1) and Bubba McDonald (District 4) each qualified Monday. Four District 4 challengers also qualified: Republicans Douglas T. Kidd and Craig Lutz, who filed their paperwork Wednesday and Thursday, respectively, and Democrat Daniel A. Blackman, who qualified Friday. Several Fulton County Superior Court judge seats are up for re-election, and the following incumbents have qualified in the nonpartisan races with no opposition thus far: Jerry Baxter, Christopher Brasher, Robert McBurney and Craig Schwall. In contested judicial races, incumbent Tom Campbell faces challenger Thomas Cox and incumbent Kelly Amanda Lee battles challenger Patricia “Pat” Jackson. Also, Jane Barwick, Shelitha Robinson and Shondeana Crews-Morris each have qualified to battle for incumbent Cynthia Wright’s seat. Wright is not seeking re-election. All qualified Monday except McBurney, who did so Tuesday, and Jackson and Schwall, who did so Wednesday. Incumbent Fulton County State Court Judges Fred Eady, Eric Richardson and Jay Roth each qualified, with Roth filing his paperwork Tuesday and the others Monday. In the Fulton County Board of Commissioners races, where the districts have been redrawn, Republicans Bob Ellis and Eric B. Broadwell (District 2) and Lee Morris, Alexander Palacios, Cory Ruth and Bernard “Bernie” Tokarz (District 3) each qualified, with Tokarz doing so Tuesday, Broadwell Wednesday, Ruth Thursday, Palacios Friday and the others Monday. In District 4, Democrats Joan Garner, the current District 6 commissioner, and challenger Eddie Lee Brewster, will face off after both qualified Monday. In District 1, Liz Hausmann, the current District 3 commissioner, was the only candidate qualifying. She did so Tuesday. In the new District 5, Democrats Marvin Arrington Jr., Johnnie Gordon, Brenda Muhammad, a former Atlanta Board of Education member, Kwame Thompson and Advis Dell Wilkerson-Byrd will battle after Muhammad and Gordon qualified Monday, Wilkerson-Byrd Tuesday, Thompson Wednesday and Arrington Friday. In District 6, Democrats Bill Edwards, the current District 7 commissioner, and Emma Darnell, the current District 5 commissioner, and Republican Abraham Watson each qualified Monday. In District 7, Democrats John Eaves, the current District 1 at-large commissioner/chairman, and Robb Pitts, the current District 2 at-large commissioner, will battle. The winner will face Republican Earl Cooper. Cooper and Pitts qualified Monday and Eaves did so Wednesday. In the nonpartisan Fulton County Board of Education races, only four of the seven members are up for re-election. Two have qualified with no opposition thus far: District 2’s Katie Reeves and District 5’s Linda McCain. In District 6, incumbent Catherine Maddox and challengers DeAndre S. Pickett and Joel L. Joseph qualified. In District 7, incumbent Julia Bernath and challenger Kathleen Wittschen also qualified. All qualified Monday except Bernath and Maddox, who each qualified Wednesday, Pickett, who did so Thursday, and Joseph, who did so Friday. In the Cobb County Superior Court judge races, Ann Harris, Juanita Pierson Stedman and Nathan J. Wade qualified Monday to run for retiring incumbent Jim Bodiford’s seat. Incumbents Robert Flournoy and Robert Leonard II qualified Monday and have no opposition.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides