No variable specified
Candidates complete qualifying for Douglas County local, state races
by Bill Baldowski
March 07, 2014 07:29 PM | 3393 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With candidate qualifying having closed at noon today, the list of local Douglas County candidates is complete.

For the Douglas Country Commission District 4, Republican incumbent Ann Jones Guider will face Republican J.R. McCoy in the May 20 primary.

For Douglas Country School Board District 4, incumbent Republican Sam Haskell faces fellow Republican Lauren McCoy while on the Democratic side, three candidates are vying to face the winner of the Haskell-McCoy race.

Those Democratic candidates are Tyler Barr, Michelle Simmons and Denny Bridges.

In the general election on Nov. 4, Douglas County Commissioner Mike Mulcare, a Republican, will face the challenge of Democrat Leslie Golden.

For Douglas County School Board District 3, incumbent Republican Janet Kelley faces the challenge of Democrat Tracy Rookard.

In the race for Douglas County district attorney, Democrat Elizabeth Dalia Racine faces Republican Bill Fortner in the Nov. 4 general election.

In the race for solicitor general, Republican Matthew Krull, the incumbent, faces Democrat Sandra G. Dawson.

The following candidates face no opposition in either the primary or general election.

They include District 1 Commissioner Henry Mitchell III, Douglas County School Board District 2 member D.T. Jackson and Douglas County Chief Magistrate Judge Susan Camp.

In other races, District 30 state Sen. Mike Dugan, R-Carrollton, meets former state lawmaker Bill Hembree in the May 20 Republican primary.

In the Senate, District 35 Sen. Donzella James, D-Atlanta, faces the challenge of Republican Francisco X.R. Artley of Douglasville in the general election.

In the House of Representatives for District 66. state Rep. Kimberly Alexander, D-Hiram, will face the challenge in November of former Republican state house member Bob Snelling in a rematch of their 2012 race.

However, most incumbents are not facing opposition.

They include District 61 state Rep Roger Bruce, D-Atlanta, District 62 state Rep. LaDawn “LBJ” Jones D-Atlanta, District 65 state Rep. Sharon Beasley Teague, D-Red Oak, District 67 State Rep. Micah Gravley, R-Douglasville and District 68 State Rep. Dustin Hightower, R-Carrollton.

For judge of Douglas County Superior Court, neither incumbents Robert J. James or David Everson has drawn opposition.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides