No variable specified
South Fulton candidates throw hats into ring
by Noreen Cochran
March 11, 2014 03:10 PM | 3735 views | 0 0 comments | 20 20 recommendations | email to a friend | print
download New county districts
All Fulton County commissioners have announced their candidacy for the May 20 primary, with the exception of Tom Lowe, who retired from politics earlier this year, but some will face each other.

District 1 incumbent Liz Hausmann, a Republican resident of Johns Creek, is running unopposed.

District 2 contenders are Republicans Bob Ellis of Milton, an insurance agent, and Eric Broadwell of Roswell, a consultant.

District 3 has three candidates, all Republicans – Bernard “Bernie” Tokarz of Atlanta, a consultant, Everett Lee Morris III of Atlanta, an attorney, and Cory Ruth of Buckhead, who is in the information technology field.

Joan Garner of District 6, a Democrat and Atlanta resident, will run in District 4 against Eddie Lee Brewster, an Atlanta educator.

District 5 has attracted five candidates, all Democrats.

They are Brenda J. Muhammad of Atlanta, a nonprofit director; Johnnie Gordon of Atlanta, a program manager; Advis Dell Wilkerson-Byrd of Atlanta, a property manager; Kwame Thompson of Atlanta, an attorney; and Marvin Arrington Jr. of Atlanta, an attorney who ran in 2012 for the state House District 62 seat

In District 6, newly drawn after last year’s legislative action, commissioners Emma Darnell of District 5 and William “Bill” Edwards of District 7 will be on the same primary ticket.

On the Republican ticket for that seat is entrepreneur Abraham Watson, who threw his hat in the ring last year for College Park City Council.

In the new District 7, Chairman John Eaves of south Fulton and District 2 at-large Commissioner Robb Pitts of Sandy Springs, both Democrats, are challenging each other.

The winner will face Republican Earl L. Cooper of Atlanta, a minister, in November.

Almost the entire south Fulton delegation of state senators and representatives announced reelection plans.

They are District 35 State Sen. Donzella James, D-Atlanta; District 38 State Sen. Horacena Tate, D-Atlanta; District 39 State Sen. and Democratic Whip Vincent Fort, D-Atlanta; District 55 State Rep. Tyrone Brooks Sr., D-Atlanta; District 60 State Rep. Keisha Waites, D-Atlanta; District 61 State Rep. Roger Bruce, D-Atlanta; District 62 State Rep. LaDawn Blackett Jones, D-Atlanta; District 63 State Rep. Ronnie Mabra, D-Fayetteville; District 64 State Rep. Virgil Fludd, D-Tyrone; and District 65 State Rep. Sharon Beasley-Teague, D-Red Oak.

Tate faces opposition in the Democratic primary from A. Reginald Crossley, an Atlanta resident and a Fulton County youth commissioner. All others are running unopposed on May 20.

James will face Republican challenger Francisco X.R. Artley, a Douglasville minister, in November. Likewise, Fort will defend his seat against Republican Realtor Robert W. Tindall of Buckhead. District 16 State Sen. and Majority Leader Ronnie Chance, R-Tyrone, has decided not to run. That leaves the field open for seven Republican hopefuls.

They are D.R. “Bob” Barnard, a builder from Fayetteville; David J. Studdard, and attorney from Fayetteville; Erik A. Manning, a project manager from Peachtree City; Gil B. Williams, a pilot from Tyrone; James W. Clifton, a Fayette County attorney; M.H. “Marty” Harbin, an insurance agent from Tyrone; and W.G. “Bill” Johnston, an attorney from Griffin.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides