No variable specified
Three seek vacant commission seat; judge leaves race after daughter qualifies for seat
by Tom Spigolon
March 12, 2014 06:09 PM | 4389 views | 0 0 comments | 16 16 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Three Republicans will vie for an open Paulding County Commission seat in the May primary while an incumbent Republican commissioner will face a challenge from both Democratic and independent candidates in the November general election, according to a list finalized by the Friday qualifying deadline.

In addition, Paulding Superior Court Judge James Osborne qualified and then reportedly withdrew from his race for re-election Monday to allow his daughter, Paulding attorney Elizabeth Williams, to seek the judgeship.

Vernon Collett, Herb Haynes and Richard Manous qualified for the county commission Post 3 seat being vacated by Tommie Graham, who is not seeking re-election.

Graham, who had said recently he would seek re-election, said his decision not to qualify was not based on any specific issue the commission was facing.

“It’s just not the right thing to do at this time,” Graham said.

Manous, a local businessman, has been a member of the Paulding County School Board since 2012 but, by state law, had to resign his seat to run for commission. Collett, also a businessman, recently resigned as Paulding County Republican Party chairman to run. He lost a 2010 race for the same commission seat to Graham. Haynes is an area real estate agent and a political newcomer.

Incumbent Todd Pownall was the only Republican to qualify for the Post 2 seat. In November he will face independent candidate Mike Pope of Dallas, and the winner of the May 20 Democratic primary between Patti Smith and Pat Hughes, both of Dallas.

Smith, who lives near Silver Comet Field, and Pownall have been vocal critics of a plan for commercial airline service at the airport off Rockmart Highway.

In addition, Republicans Tony Crowe and incumbent David Barnett qualified for the Paulding County Commission Post 4 seat. Barnett defeated Crowe in a runoff for the seat in 2010.

In the Superior Court judge’s race, Williams, an attorney with the firm Talley, Richardson and Cable, qualified Friday for the judgeship for the Paulding District. Osborne will retire at the end of his current term, Williams said Monday. She is the only candidate in the race.

Georgia General Assembly races will include District 17 State Rep. Howard Maxwell facing a challenge in the May 20 Republican primary from product manager David Bond of Dallas.

District 30 State Sen. Mike Dugan, R-Carrollton, will face former longtime Georgia House member Bill Hembree of Winston for the Republican nomination May 20, in a rematch of a 2012 race. The winner will face Democrat James Harrison Nixon of Douglasville in the November general election.

District 66 State Rep. Kim Alexander, D-Hiram, will face Republican Bob Snelling of Douglasville in the November general election. In 2012, Alexander defeated Snelling, a former state House member, for the seat which represents a district that includes Paulding and Douglas counties.

District 19 State Rep. Paulette Braddock, R-Powder Springs, will face Democrat Sandra Fuller of Dallas in the November general election.

District 31 State Sen. Bill Heath, R-Bremen, will face Democrat Charles L.R. Winter of Hiram in the November general election.

The only Paulding legislator who will be unopposed in either the primary or general election will be District 67 State Rep. Micah Gravley, R-Douglasville.

Those who qualified for Paulding County local and state offices, and their party affiliations, include:

County commission:

Post 2:


Todd Pownall, Dallas (I)


Patti Smith, Dallas

Pat Hughes, Dallas


Mike Pope, Dallas

Post 3:


Herb Haynes, Hiram

Vernon Collett, Douglasville

Richard Manous, Hiram

Post 4:

David Barnett, Dallas (I)

Tony Crowe, Dallas

School board:

District 2:


Nick Chester, Powder Springs (I)

District 5:


Earl Cosgrove, Temple

Sammy McClure, Rockmart (I)

District 6:


Kim Curl, Acworth (I)

District attorney:


Dick Donovan (I)

Superior Court Judge - Osborne:

Elizabeth Osborne Williams

U.S. House

of Representatives:

District 14:


Tom Graves, Calhoun (I)

Kenneth Herron, Calhoun

State House

of Representatives:

District 17:


David Bond, Dallas

Howard Maxwell, Dallas (I)

District 19:


Paulette Braddock, Powder Springs (I)


Sandra Fuller, Dallas

District 66:


Bob Snelling, Douglasville


Kim Alexander, Hiram (I)

District 67:


Micah Gravley, Douglasville (I)

State Senate:

District 30:


Mike Dugan, Carrollton (I)

Bill Hembree, Winston


James H. Nixon, Douglasville

District 31:


Bill Heath, Bremen (I)


Charles L.R. Winter, Hiram

I - incumbent

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides