No variable specified
Panel named to review District 5 commission candidates for DeKalb
by Staff Reports
July 15, 2014 01:18 PM | 2701 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
DeKalb interim CEO Lee May announced the citizen panel which is reviewing the candidates who have volunteered to fill a temporary appointment to commission District 5 of DeKalb County.

The panel consists of Lisa Allen, Lithonia resident and community activist, Rosalind Newell, Stone Mountain resident and attorney, and District 84 State Rep. Rahn Mayo, D-Decatur.

District 5 serves about 145,000 residents. A total of 20 people responded to advertisements: Tarnisha Dent, George Turner, Jr., Gina Smith Mangham, Charles Smith Hill, Kenneth R. Saunders III, Markus J. Butts, Kathryn T. Rice, Randal Mangham, Faye Coffield, Jacqueline Tumbling, Pierre Louis, Melvin D. Mitchell, Belinda M. Myers, Harmel Deanne Codi, Joscelyn C. O’Neil, Andre R. White, Geraldine A. Champion, Kamau K. Mason, Angela Moore and Wendolyn Peters.

Presently, the roster is being reviewed to ensure all candidates meet the minimum qualifications of being at least 21 years of age, a citizen of this state, a resident of the geographic area encompassed by District 5 at the time of application and a resident of DeKalb County for at least 12 months prior to appointment.

The panel will review all qualified applicants to narrow the field to two qualified candidates. Of these, May will submit a candidate to the board of commissioners for consideration.

“I expect to have the panel’s recommendations by the end of the month, then be able to make a nomination to the board of commissioners within the first two weeks of August, if not sooner,” May said.

The term of service for the eventual interim District 5 commissioner will begin upon approval by the board and continue until Chief Executive Officer Burrell Ellis’ suspension is terminated or the need for the candidate ends, whichever is earlier. The interim commissioner shall receive the normal salary rate of an elected commissioner.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides