No variable specified
Medical cannabis study committee sets meeting dates
by Staff Reports
July 15, 2014 01:48 PM | 2432 views | 0 0 comments | 1 1 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The co-chairmen of the Prescription of Medical Cannabis for Serious Medical Conditions Joint Study Committee last week announced the meeting dates for the panel.

Members include District 67 State Rep. Micah Gravley, R-Douglasville, whose district includes Douglas and Paulding counties.

Dates include Aug. 27, 1-3 p.m., at the Georgia State Capitol in Atlanta; Sept. 10, 1 to 3 p.m., at Mercer University in Macon; Oct. 1, 1 to 3 p.m., at Georgia Gwinnett College in Lawrenceville; Oct. 22, 1 to 3 p.m., at Georgia Regents University in Augusta; and Nov. 12, 1 to 3 p.m., at the Georgia State Capitol in Atlanta.

The committee was established by Senate Resolution 981 following this year’s legislative session. Gravley was an early supporter of legislation legalizing a form of cannabis oil to help control seizure disorders which are part of some medical conditions. The bill later stalled amid disagreements over costs and conditions to be covered.

Two Paulding County families were among Georgia residents forced to move or travel to Colorado for legal use of the medicine, which has been shown to control seizures.

Co-chairman District 141 State Rep. Allen Peake, R-Macon said the committee had a number of objectives for the meetings.

“Throughout this series of study committee meetings, we hope to examine legislation that other states have crafted to help their citizens find relief from certain medical disorders,” he said.

“I also look forward to hearing feedback and testimonies from various groups, especially families who are seeking cannabis oil treatment in Georgia, law enforcement representatives and medical professionals,” he said.

“In order to understand all aspects of medical cannabis, testimony from producers of this very specific cannabis oil that is used to treat seizure disorders in children will also be very important.”

Committee members also include co-chairman District 45 State Sen. Renee Unterman, R-Buford; District 11 State Sen. Dean Burke, R-Bainbridge; District 49 State Sen. Butch Miller, R-Gainesville; District 5 State Sen. Curt Thompson, D-Tucker; District 40 State Rep. Rich Golick, R-Smyrna; and District 59 State Rep. Margaret Kaiser, D-Atlanta.

*We welcome your comments on the stories and issues of the day and seek to provide a forum for the community to voice opinions. All comments are subject to moderator approval before being made visible on the website but are not edited. The use of profanity, obscene and vulgar language, hate speech, and racial slurs is strictly prohibited. Advertisements, promotions, spam, and links to outside websites will also be rejected. Please read our terms of service for full guides